Team Green- Cup winners

Cricket Newfoundland and Labrador’s T20 summer league reached a climax this Sunday with the Atul Ahuja Cup final. Team Green won a low-scoring match by 5 wickets.
Team Red won the toss and captain Kavish Srisvastava decided to bat – a decision that perhaps provided unwise. On a sunny but cool day, the conditions proved very helpful to swing bowling, and Senthil Selvamani made the most of them. He beat and bowled Rakesh Negi in the first over, and Shameem Islam bowled Hummam with his first ball – 7/2. Senthill then bowled Alpesh Patel for a duck, and Kranthi attempted to hit his first ball over the top, only to be well caught by KK at long-off. A bad situation got worse as Luftor was run out by Rajender, trying a suicidal single, Senthill bowled Ali Dawood, then Kavish, after being dropped in the deep once, tried a big hit again 2 balls later, only for KK to snag his second catch. Shameem took his third wicket by bowling Talha and Red were 26/8 with only 10 overs gone. Waqas Hanif, who had come in at the fall of the first wicket, was still there and batting sensibly, and he and Eldho Paul put on 27 for the 9th wicket. Waqas finally fell for 17, and when Eldho was stumped, the Reds were all out for just 55.
Senthill took 4/13 and was eventually named man-of-the match but Shameem also had outstanding figures of 4-1-5-3.
Gurman (13) and Rajender (10) put on 24 for the first wicket, Rajender hitting the first boundary of the match. By the time Eldho Paul bowled Gurman, Greens were well on top, and although wickets continued to fall there were still 5 overs remaining when Kangai finished the game off with a six over long-on- only the second boundary of the match. Suhail took 2-8 in the losing cause.
[nggallery id=12]
Atul Ahuja Cup: Team Green
League Champions: Team Red
League awards:
Most Valuable player and best batsman: Nick Baxter (Team Blue)
Best bowler: Suhail Aziz Parrey (Team Red)
Best wicket-keeper: Kranthi Kumar (Team Red)
Top fielder: Kaivallya Kulkarni (Team Green)
Most improved player: Alex Dias (Team Green)
Most spirited player: Mark Russell (Team Blue)