Cricket Newfoundland and Labrador has named a strong team to compete at the Eastern Canadian T20 tournament being held this weekend in Montreal, Quebec. Thirteen players have been selected, led by captain Rakesh Negi. They will play a round-robin against last year’s champions Nova Scotia, Québec A and B teams, PEI, and New Brunswick, with the top two teams qualifying for Sunday’s final, and third/ fourth place teams playing for bronze.

This is the team’s eighth Atlantic T20 tournament following the establishment of Cricket Newfoundland and Labrador in 2010. Last year they finished third, beating PEI and New Brunswick.

Team vehicle- ready for the long drive to Montreal

A group of players left today, driving to Montreal with the rest of the team following on Thursday by plane.

Schedule (all times NST):
Friday 31 August
10:30 am v Quebec A
5 pm v Quebec B
Saturday, 1st September
3 pm v PEI
5 pm v Nova Scotia
Sunday 2 September
11:30 am v New Brunswick
3:30 pm – final and bronze medal match.

Quebec tell us that there will be live scoring on

Full squad:
Rakesh Negi (captain)
Anol Azad
Madhu Bandara
Abhishek Doshi
Saravana Kumar
Praveen Manhas
Daxraj Mehta
Rahul Vashisht
Deep Patel
Gurman Khurana
Sajawal Osto
Arifusalem Sheikh
Mesam Timmar

Coach: Dave Liverman